Powered by:


SPE recognises two new honoured service members

Dr Luyi Sun and Uday Vaidya will be recognised for their contributions to the Society of Plastics Engineers (SPE) at SPEís ANTEC 2018 @NPE2018 in May.

The honour was established in 1992 and including the current inductees, only 327 members have received Honoured Service Member recognition since.

SPE says to be chosen, a candidate must have demonstrated long-term, outstanding service to, and support of, the Society and its objectives.

The new honourees are Dr Luyi Sun and Uday Vaidya.

Dr Sun is a Castleman Associate Professor in Engineering Innovation in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, as well as the Director of the Polymer Program at the University of Connecticut.

Sun has served various roles within SPE and participated in the organisation of SPEís International Polyolefins Conference for the past 10 years.

Dr Sunís current research focuses on the design and synthesis of nano-structured multifunctional materials for various applications.

Mr Vaidya has 30 years of experience in a broad range of composites for defence, transportation and industrial applications and has a joint appointment with The University of Tennessee, Knoxville and the Oak Ridge National Lab.

Vaidya is also the UT/ORNL Governor's Chair in Advanced Composites Manufacturing.

The plastics technical conference, ANTEC 2018 @NPE2018, will take place 7th-10th May at the Orange County Convention Centre in Orlando, USA.

» More Information

« Go to Technological Watch


[16/01/2019] - Final Places for Fire Performance Event

[16/01/2019] - Six new substances added to the Candidate List

[16/01/2019] - Web Industries names Mark Pihl chief executive officer

[16/01/2019] - Nestlé Accelerates Action to Tackle Plastic Waste

This project has received funding from the European Union Seventh Framework Programme (FP7/2007-2013) under grant agreement nį [310187].